20 Tips For Beginners Coding Learners

C

codeguru

Freecoin
Few things I want to share for beginners or any learner. I'm still learning at the moment React-Redux-TypeScript.

1) I've made few mistakes the biggest that I don't have many projects to show. So I've not done enough practice on my own. Do practice even the small things until you know without much help.

2) I avoided official documentations at the beginning because I didn't understand them and they are too "official". If you learn from anything or do a code along open up that official documentation. You will learn not just how to use them but reading code and it's always better to go back to an official website to look up things.

3) Find what works for you. I've tried several methods to learn JavaScript for example. Few courses I like, others not so much. Even the teacher's voice and teaching style matters. I'm a visual type so reading is better for me than watching. And if I look up things I try to use many sources. Some I understand better than the others.

4) Don't expect to be easy and fast without prior knowledge. It is just not realistic. You see people learn to code in 4 months. Possible? Probably. But they are the exceptions.

5) Don't try to master things before moving on. You don't need to be good at HTML or CSS before starting JavaScript. Or be the JS master before React. Basically everything is used all the time during learning.

6) Don't try to find logic behind everything. It will just slow your learning down. Just learn the syntax. Learn how to use them and move on. Once you are better you can peek behind the scenes. You don't try to understand every mechanics before starting to drive?

7) Don't try to memorize everything. Even people with decades of experience need to look up things. Just simply too much to know.